These are a few of my favorite things…

Yay, sporadic post! Hopefully your summer has been going well! Mine is still crazy so I  don’t see weekly posts coming back in the near future, but for now I just wanted to share some things I’ve been trying lately that I love!!

The first one is NYC Appleicious Lip Balm. I originally got this to try in a Vox Box from Influenster, and let me tell you… I am in love!! This line of lip balm gives a subtle hint of color, and hours of moisture while smelling great at an amazing price point of around $3! NYC has really won me over with their lip products.

appleicious copy

 They have a bunch of different colors to choose from and they’re so cute!! I love the little apple in the middle 🙂 Since trying this I have purchased several more for my friends. I think they are a great way to dress up your every day makeup with a hint of color while still taking care of your lips. I was religiously using this every day until I somehow misplaced it!! I was so sad, but luckily found it a couple days ago and its back in my makeup drawer, safe and sound 🙂

\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//

The next product I’ve been loving is the Physician’s Formula All – In – One Super BB Powder. Prior to this, I had never used a BB product or a PF product. I was lucky to win a full sized sample of this in a contest and was so excited to get to try it!!

superbbpowder copy

I could tell the company took pride in their products from the time I opened the box. The continer was fastened into the box with a little adhesive to make sure that it remained right side up and looking perfect. How many companies actually do that?! The Super BB Powder is a luxuriously soft, silky pressed powder. It blends onto skin seamlessly and blurs imperfections while reflecting the light for a slightly dewey look. It even smells good! I used it in place of my mineral powder for a couple days to test it. I did like the feel and finish of the powder, but I felt that it gave a little too much of a dewey look for me. I have adjusted my routine now and use it more like a highlighter than a full faced powder. By using it on my cheekbones, forehead and the bridge of my nose, it gives just a little bit of luster and a natural glow, without being a full on bronzer. I blend in my normal mineral powder everywhere else and this has worked well for me.

Physician’s Formula also makes an All – In – One Super BB Concealer and Cream in this line, which I would love to try. The powder retails for about $13, but lasts a long time so I think the price is worth it for the effect and quality you get.

\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//\\//

BB creams have been all the rage for the past several months, and I never jumped on the bandwagon. I use a tinted moisturizer since my skin is a bit dry and always thought a BB cream would be the same thing. Essentially you get many of the same benefits, but after some research BB creams seem to be a bit fuller coverage than a tinted moisturizer and can double as a primer for the rest of your makeup. So I emailed Garnier for a sample to see what this was all about.

garnier bb cream copyThe sample included a tester of both the Combination–Oily and the Dry Skin products. After testing, I found that even though my skin is dry and not oily at all, I liked the finish and feel of the Combination–Oily cream better. I picked up a tube of the Garnier brand at the store for $11, which is a bargain compared to the other BB creams on the shelf selling for $14-$30.

I love that this cream provides SPF, moisture, minimizes pores, and evens out your skin tone. And while it can be worn by itself, it also acts a good primer for the rest of your makeup routine. The only thing about this particular product is that I really wouldn’t call it a cream! It is quite runny in fact. But it goes on well and feels like you don’t have anything on your skin. I did notice that after about 6 hours it seemed to fade some, but the package does say to reapply every 2 hours. If you are wearing this cream by itself that is easy to do, but when you layer your concealer and powder over the top, you can’t just reapply as needed! The solution to this that I have come up with is that after you apply your first layer of the cream and let it dry, you can apply a second layer to problem areas, in my case under my eyes. So far this has seemed to work well and provides a little extra coverage where you need it without getting cakey. I still love my tinted moisturizer, but I will probably switch over to using BB creams now, as they provide a bit more SPF and some other added benefits.

Have you tried any of these? Have any newly discovered products you’re loving? I would love to hear about your favorites in the comments below! Until next time,

~~Sparrow

 

6 responses to “These are a few of my favorite things…

  1. Thanks for posting your reviews! I’ve been hearing about bb creams and looked them up but it was still kind of confusing to me. They have cc creams too, and apparently they’re starting to come out with dd creams? That’s what I was reading. I didn’t know they made bb cream powder, so I thought that was really interesting. I tried what I think was a bb cream they were sampling at costco that was supposed to change to your skin tone when you rubbed it in, but it didn’t. It was super orange and horrible looking. I am interested in finding a good one, so thanks for your recommendations. Hope this isn’t too long of a comment!

    • Thanks! Yes cc creams are (from what I remember) color correcting, and dd creams I have heard of but only seen one and not sure of its benefits. I want to try a cc cream next. I usually avoid cosmetic products that “self-adjust” to your color, every one I’ve tried has been horrible! The Garnier bb cream is a great value and comes in a few different shades, plus there’s enough in the bottle to last me probably 2 months. I think it’s a good place to start in trying bb creams! Let me know if you try it.

      • I know, that whole “magic color adjusting thing” is such bs. I will let you know if I try it! I think because of my skin though (needing full coverage to hide blemishes and being very dry and sensitive to certain ingredients) it just makes sense for me to wear a full coverage foundation when I wear makeup at all. I would rather not, but I kind of think it looks worse to wear a sort of tinted moisturizer that doesn’t hide all of my skin problems. Do you feel like it’s pretty good at concealing, or is it very light? I guess it wouldn’t hurt to layer it under foundation, like you were saying, but I don’t know if it would be worth getting it just to layer.

      • I would say that this does a better job at concealing and evening tone than tinted moisturizer, and the SPF is a little higher. I normally have to use full coverage makeup but this is the first product that has actually lessened the amount of concealer and powder I need to use. I think this would be a really good thing to try if you want to conceal blemishes, redness, or even out skin tone without having to have a lengthy makeup routine every day (it takes me 6 minutes including setting time to apply bb, concealer, and powder/blush). I don’t think this can replace the look achieved by a department store brand full coverage makeup, but it is a little more realistic for every day use. The only thing I dislike is that if you’re active it needs to be reapplied after about 5 or 6 hours. But it’s quick and easy to do, especially if you are wearing it by itself or with minimal powder over the top.

      • I think it would 🙂 its a nice way to freshen up anyway. and i forgot to mention my skin is sensitive too, so if i notice any adverse reactions i’ll let you know.

Leave a Reply

