Skinnygirl On-The-Go Bars — Review!

voxbox-blogimage-popup2

Yesterday I received my Sweetheart VoxBox from Influenster, packed with free goodies for me to test out. The first product I decided to try was this Skinnygirl On-the-Go Bar. I am horrible about eating breakfast and was starving this morning so I took the bar and an apple with me to work.

photo-3

I received the bar in the Greek Yogurt Blueberry Crisp flavor. This bar has 180 calories, is natural, kosher, and high in fiber. It also has 8g of protein and a little bit of potassium, calcium, iron, and Vitamin E. The bar is a 1.6oz size, so to be honest I don’t think it would fill me as a meal replacement, but I paired it with an apple for breakfast and I felt pretty good. When I unwrapped the bar, I noticed the bottom was dipped in the “yogurt” and it was drizzled over the top of the bar as well. I broke it in half so you’d be able to see the texture of the inside of the bar. The crisp granola was studded with little blueberries, and overall the bar looked delicious!

skinnygirl1

As for the real important part, the taste, I was very impressed! The granola is crisp (which I prefer to crunchy), slightly chewy, and I tasted at least a few  little blueberries in every bite. The yogurt had a silky texture and added just a touch of creamy-ness to the bar, which complimented the berries and slightly sweet granola perfectly. The bar was so good I devoured it pretty quickly… I did feel fuller than I had expected to from that little bar, so I think one of these would be great to stash in your purse so that you have a snack to eat if you get hungry between meals, or before the gym for a little energy. If I was craving something sweet and didn’t want to resort to a candy bar, I think this would also make a great alternative because it is sweet enough to feel like you’re eating a treat, but healthy enough that I wouldn’t feel guilty grabbing one at any time.

Overall I’d give this product an 8.5 out of 10. The only thing I am not crazy about is the price. These are $9.99 for a box of 5! I’m sorry but that is a bit much. I don’t think I could justify spending $2 per bar on these plus tax, but maybe if I had a coupon or something I’d pick up a box to keep at home and use gradually. I also love Luna bars, and because they are bigger, cheaper, and taste just as good as these, I would buy them instead if the Skinnygirl bars as of right now. If I discover any new info on this product, I will update this entry as needed. If you have any questions, please leave them below! There will be many more reviews rolling out over the next couple weeks concerning the Sweetheart Vox Box and other cosmetics I’ve been trying, so I would love for you to subscribe by email to my blog! See you soon…

~~Sparrow

Leave a Reply

