Hiding in Sunshine — Review

I received Hiding in Sunshine for free as a special gift from Influenster so that I could read and review it! I had been wanting to read a new book so this came just in time for me.

In a nutshell, the book is a suspense novel about a quiet, wealthy family, the Brinkley’s. Suddenly the Brinkley’s are uprooted from their comfortable life due to a kidnap attempt on their family, and they are forced to take on new identities and live life on the run to hide from a nasty group of cyber stalker/killers.

I typically lean toward reading historical romance novels, Christian novels, fantasy and the like, so I was excited to read this suspense novel to change it up a bit.

Overall, I felt the book was an entertaining, easy read story. I quickly breezed through a few chapters a few nights a week till I finished and enjoyed following the story of Gavin and Lisa Brinkley and their family. It was interesting because I felt that the story line was not unrealistic from something that could potentially happen today, which ultimately made the story more believable and suspenseful. The characters were reasonably developed, though I did feel that the relationship between Gavin and Lisa was a bit cheesy. The married couple loved each other immensely and would occasionally snap at one another, but then would immediately recognize their attitudes or issues, apologize and be back to their almost perfect relationship. Not that its a bad thing, it was just cheesy to me that given their circumstances and the stress of their situation (being on the run, not being able to call each other their real names, raising two curious girls, dealing with neighbors and other people in the community, having little money to live on as their “new” selves and wondering what happened to all the money they had before the catastrophe, not knowing who exactly was hunting them down, a break in at their house…), that there was not more drama between them.

One unique thing about this book is that it was written by a father-daughter team, John and Caitlin Stuart. I have never read a father-daugher-team-created-novel before and was a little leery that I might be able to tell a difference in writing styles or that the book might be lacking something, but was pleasantly surprised. I felt that the book was very well written, and the writing style was consistent throughout the book. I think it is special that a father and daughter got to collaborate and create this story together. What a cool way to bond!

I would highly recommend picking up this book if you are looking for something new to read, or typically gravitate toward other book genres. This was fun and suspenseful, I will probably read it again a couple years down the road, just for fun! If you would like to read other reviews or purchase the book for about $20 (paperback), you can find them on Amazon by clicking here. If you have a review of this book, post the link in the comments below so I can check it out! Thanks for reading 🙂

~~Sparrow

2 responses to “Hiding in Sunshine — Review

  1. I didn’t know you liked historical romance novels. Have you ever read the author Georgette Heyer? She is credited with creating the genre of historical romance and she is the best. I have some I could lend you if you’re interested.

Leave a Reply

