Workin’ on my fitness!

Today marks the beginning of a challenge for me! I am participating in a fitness challenge in our community to promote healthier lifestyles. I am both excited and sad… I am ready to get into better shape, but also sad to have to cut down on many of the bad foods I love! I know that in a week or two from now I should be set into a pretty good routine and won’t even really want all those bad foods, so I am just tying to get myself to push through. I decided not to focus on weight for this challenge, in fact I won’t be weighing myself until the end of the competition. Instead I am going to strive to loose a few inches by going to the gym/being intentionally active 5 days a week, and will be training for a small marathon coming up in March. My other goals also include drinking the recommended amount of water each day (I’m really bad at that), and preparing healthy, balanced dinners at home instead of eating out.

I felt that by taking the focus away from trying to achieve a specific weight, I would be more successful. If you have ever tried to lose weight before, you might know how stressful it can be to step on the scale and see whether or not you have reached the number you want. To me, being healthy does not necessarily mean you have to be a certain number on the scale, it is about being physically fit and fueling your body with the foods and vitamins it needs instead of processed, synthetic foods that will bog you down. I actually enjoy eating healthier and am more satisfied by fresh, natural foods when I take the time and make the effort to prepare those kind of meals. I want this challenge to help me to make a lifestyle change instead of just trying to drop weight or go on a diet. Besides, you can’t spell diet without “die” 🙂

I want to clarify that just because I’m trying to get into better shape does not mean I will never eat a piece of cake again, or that I will never get a burger at In N’ Out for the rest of my life (how would I survive???). I don’t think there is anything wrong with splurging a little here and there, it’s all about moderation and staying active. I just want to make smarter choices on a daily basis that will help me to be healthy. I once heard someone say, “No one workout will get you into shape, and no one meal will make you fat.” It’s a journey and takes time and dedication!

I don’t normally make New Year’s resolutions, but I guess this is kind of like one. I have a goal in mind of what kind of shape I’d like to be in by this time next year, and I have a plan set out to help get me there. I am thankful that I will have some people helping and encouraging me along the way, now I just need to get out and do it! If you are thinking of getting healthier I’d encourage you to get a couple of friends to workout with you and keep you accountable too. Even if its just going for a walk every day!

One of the resources I will be using is My Fitness Pal which helps you to track your food/calories, exercise, and pounds. You can even connect online with your friends so you can cheer each other on 🙂 I’d recommend checking that out!

Here’s to a healthy 2013! I’d love to hear what you’re doing this year to make healthy changes in your life, too!

~~Sparrow

Leave a Reply

