2012 Holiday Vox Box – Product Reviews

Hello again! Its been a few days since I opened my Holiday 2012 Vox Box, so now that I’ve tried almost all the goods I’m here with reviews for you. Once again, if you haven’t heard of Influenster, please do yourself a favor and read my “I’m an Influenster!” blog post for more details, or pay them a visit at http://www.influenster.com. You can thank me later.

Before I get started on the review, I do want to take a second to say that: I am not affiliated with any of the companies/brands of these products or Influenster. I received all of the products in this review for free from Influenster and I am not being compensated for my reviews in any way. The opinions I am sharing are all my own.

I only joined Influenster about a month ago, so this was my first time ever receiving a Vox Box. It was so much fun to have gotten this around Christmas, it was like getting an extra gift! This box had some great things inside, as you can see from my very blurry picture below…

voxbox

I need a camera so badly.

Anyway, here’s my take on the products that were included, with the exception of the face mask. Once I do the mask I will update this again though!

Quaker Real Medley’s in “Summer Berry Oatmeal”–
Yum! It literally took one minute to make, which is great because if you’re like me, you probably hate waiting for your food to come out of the microwave. Besides the oatmeal, it contained a generous portion of strawberries, whole blueberries, raspberries and multigrains. It was a nice serving size, and I think in most cases would keep me full till lunch. Overall I enjoyed it, and I give it an A+ for its convenience, but I did feel that the berries were a bit tart. I love berries, but these were just a bit too sour for me. I would be willing to try another flavor though, since I really like the option of a quick breakfast I can take with me that is not packed with sugar. I saw some Influensters say they received an Apple Walnut one…that sounds good. At $1.79 per cup, they are a pretty good value and easy to take on the go.

Goody QuickStyle Brush (Half Round Styler)–
So heres my rant.
I never buy hair brushes. In fact, I only owned a finishing brush and a wide toothed comb until I got my Vox Box several days ago. Because my hair is so curly, I only comb it during a shower when it has conditioner in it (to detangle), and I use the finishing brush when my hair has been dried and straightened. I’ve owned many a brush in my lifetime, and I think my consensus is that I generally just hate brushes. My hair is naturally curly so it always gets caught in brush bristles and that little crevice where the brush and handle meet. Plus my hair takes so long to dry that I just don’t have the patience to sit there and dry it with a brush. So on days when I plan to straighten it, this has led me to just let it go buck wild as I flip my head over and blow dry it. After its dry, and my mane is looking very lion-esque (this is not an exaggeration), I curl or straighten it. This has probably not been the best choice for my hair’s health, not to mention it takes forever.

But I think those days are over now that I’ve tried the Quick Style brush! I am so impressed with its performance. If I saw it in the store I would have never given it a second thought. It looks funny with those fuzzy blue things in between the bristles, and I hate brushes, so why would I buy it? But it may just be my favorite thing in my Vox Box. It cut my drying time almost in half. HALF. Plus my hair feels softer, and seems less staticky. Those little microfiber bristles work wonders. I was given the Half Round brush as opposed to the Paddle that some other Influensters got, which is perfect for me to create some curl on the ends when I dry my hair. I’m sure the paddle version is nice too, but I really love the one I got.

The Goody Quick Style Half Round Brush retails for $11.99, and I’d bet you could find it at Ulta, Target or Walgreens. It claims to remove up to 30% of water from your hair as you style, which seems accurate after my experience with it so far. The microfiber bristles are easy maintenance, too. Do yourself a favor and go invest in one of these puppies.

NYC New York Color Liquid Lipshine in “Nude New York”–
I was hoping this was going to be in the Vox Box after seeing its been distributed in prior boxes. To be honest, I have generally not purchased NYC brand products in the past. Partially because I don’t know much about them, and partially because I thought that the price of their products might reflect the quality. I am very happily surprised with this product however!

I received the Lipshine in the color “Nude New York,” (I know I said the wrong thing in my unboxing video) a beautiful, natural color perfect for any occasion, and let me tell you I have worn it just about every day now!! I love this stuff! It has what I call “sophisticated sparkle” (as compared to “little girl sparkle” and “glitter-bomb sparkle”) and gives a dimensional effect when applied. It has a nice, sweet smell, but thankfully no flavor. It also contains Vitamin E for added moisture, which is an important feature to me.  I love that is does not leave my lips sticky! At a price point of $2.49, this product is a winner in my book! I will probably venture to try a couple other products from NYC after testing this one, and definitely will pick up another Lipshine in a reddish hue.

Eboost Natural Energy in “Pink Lemonade” —
I tried this New Year’s day morning, since I was exhausted! Phoenix and I did glitter tattoos and face painting for about 100 kids at a New Years Eve event and were wiped… waking up New Years morning was challenging to say the least! So anyway, I tried the Eboost when I got to work. Overall I think it was good. I must admit I am very picky when it comes to drinks and especially drink packets that are added to water, so I am probably not the best judge for this product. I was expecting it to be more effervescent, but as soon as the powder dissolved there were no bubbles in the drink. I also felt it had a strange smell. The flavor was okay, it tasted mostly like pink lemonade. I did feel that it woke me up and I wasn’t wired like you can sometimes get with one too many espresso shots. I would like to try this product in a different flavor, to see if maybe I’d like it more. But I think if you’re looking for an alternative to coffee or energy drinks this could be a good product for you. The packet contains several vitamins and minerals, so they are a great healthy choice for a boost of energy. They are a bit pricey at $28 for a pack of 20, but If you’re buying a coffee or Red Bull every day, this would still be cheaper.

Sole Society $25 off coupon —
I am still browsing their selection and deciding which ones I like 🙂 There are so many cute options!! Do I go bold, or classic? Flats or heels? Too many choices. But you can use the coupon too! Enter in INFLUENSTER25 at checkout for $25 off your purchase!

Kiss Nail Dress nail stickers in Jeweled Leopard print —
I LOVE THESE!!! I have never purchased them in store because I didn’t think they’d really stay on, but I guess I was wrong! This time I only put them on one nail on each hand because I did a mint green manicure with the ring fingers as the leopard print. I absolutely love the way the stickers look and they feel so cool with the little rhinestones on them! They were easier and faster to apply than I thought they’d be, and so far through the past 4 days of hand washing, bathing, and day to day activities they are still stuck on strong. The package says they should last up to 10 days. My nail polish is wearing faster than the stickers are, and I will actually need to touch up the polish tonight. I am looking forward to getting creative with my remaining stickers when I redo my nails, too. I will definitely be picking up a couple more packs of these awesome things in different designs. If you’re like me, you probably paint your nails and then go mess them up within 20 minutes of finishing, so I think the Kiss Nail Dress stickers are a great solution to us impatient or busy people who can’t let their nails dry before ruining them. I also like the fact that they come with sizes so that you can put them on your toes if you want to. What a cool thing if you need a quick mani before going out!

I am still so excited that I was chosen to receive the Holiday Vox Box this year! How cool is it that you can go participate in a website and get free stuff out of it?! I was informed by Influenster that I will also be receiving the bonus gift, which I believe will be a suspense novel. That should be fun, and I’ll post more details once it arrives. If you get a chance, I’d encourage you to go try some of these products and see what you think as well! If you’re an Influenster, leave a comment with a link to your Vox Box review so I can check you out! And I’d love for you subscribe to my blog if you haven’t yet 🙂 Stay tuned!

~~Sparrow

Leave a Reply

